Texas Performing Arts Home
The University of Texas at Austin

Dream House Quartet
Featuring Katia & Marielle Labèque, Bryce Dessner & David Chalmin

more information  Know Before You Go

Formed in 2018, Dream House Quartet fuses decades of musical mastery of classical and contemporary forms, featuring luminaries the Katia and Marielle Labèque on dueling pianos along with acclaimed composer-guitarists Bryce Dessner (The National) and David Chalmin (innocence, la terre invisible) performing radical new commissions from visionary composers and pivotal contemporary works of the last half century. In its first-ever world tour, this all-star ensemble will bring singular interpretations of several highly influential works of minimalist pioneers and contemporary composers to Austin for the first time. The original double album Minimalist Dream House (released in 2013) gathered interpretations of compositions by pioneers of minimalism and their successors, including Philip Glass, Arvo Pärt, Thom Yorke, Aphex Twin and Brian Eno – artists who bend musical time and space as much as the Labèques, while enjoying the paradoxical freedom of minimalism’s limitations. The Austin premiere of Dream House Quartet will feature new works by Dessner and Chalmin (commissioned for the group) as well as works by Meredith Monk, Steve Reich and Philip Glass.

Running time: 100 minutes including one intermission 

Bryce Dessner — Haven (2019)
Meredith Monk — Ellis Island (1981)
Steve Reich — Electric Counterpoint (1987) 
Philip Glass — 4 Movements for 2 Pianos (2008)

Thom Yorke — Don’t Fear the Light, Part 1 & 2 (2019)
David Chalmin — Eclipse (2023) 
Bryce Dessner — Sonic Wires (2023)

View full program notes.

Media Sponsor: KUTX-FM


A daring triumph.


The extraordinary celebrity of the pianists Katia and Marielle Labèque... immersing themselves in an increasingly youthful repertoire.

The Guardian