Texas Performing Arts Home
The University of Texas at Austin

Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet

more information  Know Before You Go

Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet
Michael Hasel, flute
Andreas Wittman, oboe
Walter Seyfarth, clarinet
Marion Reinhard, bassoon
Fergus McWilliam, horn

Presented in partnership with the Butler School of Music and KMFA-FM

View event program.

Texas Performing Arts welcomes back the ensemble that has virtually redefined the sound of the classical wind quintet. Founded in 1988, during the tenure of conductor Herbert von Karajan, the Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet is the first permanently established wind quintet in the famous orchestra’s rich tradition of chamber music. Their repertoire covers the spectrum of the wind quintet literature, and the ensemble’s stellar reputation has led to collaborations with legendary conductors such as Leonard Bernstein, Bernard Haitink, Riccardo Muti, James Levine, and Daniel Barenboim.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791): Three Fantasies for mechanical organ K.594 - K.616 - K.608
arranged for wind quintet by Michael Hasel

Pavel Haas: Quintet, Op. 10 (1929)


Gyorgy Ligeti: Six Bagatelles
Carl Nielsen: Quintet for Winds, Op. 43

Arguably the best ensemble of its kind in the world.

Manchester Evening News

Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet from Art Of Sound And Vision on YouTube.

Fun Facts:

  • Flutist Michael Hasel originally began conducting in piano and organ studies, intending to graduate as a church musician.
  • The ensemble was the first permanently established wind quintet in the Berlin Philharmonic.
  • Oboist Andreas Wittmann is currently Permanent Guest Conductor of Brazil's Orquesta Sinfónica Salvador de Bahia.
  • Clarinetist Walter Seyfarth is a descendent of composers Albert Lortzing and Ferdinand Rie.
  • Hornist Fergus McWilliam made his debut as a soloist with the Toronto Symphony at the age of fifteen.
  • In 1999, bassoonist Marion Reinhard was appointed to the Berlin Philharmonic where she became a colleague of the Quintet's first bassoonist Henning Trog.