Texas Performing Arts Home
The University of Texas at Austin

Les Arts Florissants & Théotime Langlois
Vivaldi's Four Seasons at 300

more information  Know Before You Go

When it was published in 1725, no one imagined that Vivaldi’s Opus 8, Nos. 1-4, The Four Seasons, would become some of the most frequently heard music of all time. Yet 300 years later, they are among the best-known classical compositions ever.

The Baroque music supergroup Les Arts Florissants, a best-in-class ensemble of period musicians, are joined by the extraordinary violinist Théotime Langlois de Swarte for a program that presents this iconic music in a new light and commemorates its original publication.

The masterpieces are set alongside music Vivaldi would have known in Venice and compositions that were in turn inspired by his bold vision, including additional works by Vivaldi, Monteverdi, and Uccellini. The music invites questions about the fleeting, cyclical nature of our existence, our relationship with nature, and the health of our planet.

Program detail:
Claudio Monteverdi (1567 -1643): Adoramus te, SV 289, transcription.

Antonio Vivaldi (1678–1741): Concerto for strings and basso continuo “Madrigalesco” RV 129

Marco Uccellini (1603-1680): Bergamasca

Vivaldi: Concerto in D-Minor, RV 813

Francesco Geminiani (1687–1762): Concerto XII in D-minor “Follia” (after Corelli).

Vivaldi:  Concerto in E-Major, Op. 8, No. 1, RV 269 (“Spring”)

Vivaldi:  Concerto in G-Minor, Op. 8, No. 2, RV 315 (“Summer”)


Vivaldi:  Overture to “La Fida Ninfa” (“The Faithful Nymph”) in F-Major, FV 714

Vivaldi:  Concerto in F-Major, Op. 8, No. 3 RV 293 (“Autumn”)

Vivaldi:  Grave from Violin Concerto in Bb-Major, RV 370

Vivaldi:  Concerto in F-Minor, Op. 8, No. 4 RV 297 (“Winter”)

Théotime Langlois de Swarte reminds me why I fell in love with the Baroque violin in the first place.