The University of Texas at Austin


Presented in partnership with Butler School of Music

Hub New Music will premiere new works by Carlos Simon and perform recent commissions by Kati Agócs and Hannah Lash as part of a virtual residency. This virtual event will include a live chat and post-performance Q&A with Founder, Executive Director, and flutist, Michael Avitabile.

Called “contemporary chamber trailblazers” by the Boston Globe, Hub New Music — composed of flute, clarinet, violin, and cello — is forging new pathways in 21st-century repertoire. The ensemble’s ambitious commissioning projects and “appealing programs” (New Yorker) celebrate the rich diversity of today’s classical music landscape. 

Kati Agócs, Rogue Emoji
Carlos Simon, excerpts from Requiem for the Enslaved 
*Hannah Lash, The Nature of Breaking
Guest artist, Hannah Lash, joins Hub New Music on harp for her own composition.

*This commission has been made possible by the Chamber Music America Classical Commissioning Program, with generous funding provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. 

Free Tickets for UT Students
Enter password here for your free tickets.

Current Texas Inner Circle Members will receive a link to enjoy this performance for free. Watch your email!

"Media Control" by Pascal Le Boeuf from Hub New Music on YouTube.